Board Members

Join Us

Donate Now



President – Miriam Pearlman
Temple Sinai, Toronto

Miriam Pearlman has served on the ARZA Canada Board since 2004 in a variety of roles including Senior Vice-President, Chair of Communications and an ARZA Canada delegate to a World Zionist Congress in Israel. Miriam is currently a Board Trustee on the URJ-North American Board and an ARZA Canada representative on the Reform Movement Israel Commission.

She is an active lay leader member of Temple Sinai Congregation of Toronto, having served on the Board of Directors and as Chair of the vibrant Israel Committee. She has been active in many Temple Sinai missions to Israel led by their senior rabbi.

Professionally Miriam was a pioneer as a women in education throughout her 37-year career.  Starting as a secondary school teacher of mathematics with the North York Board of Education during a time when women teaching mathematics were rare, she moved up the organizational ladder as the first woman to serve as the Coordinator of Mathematics in a large urban school board, to Secondary School Principal to Superintendent of Education with the Toronto District School Board. 
 Miriam has an Honour B.A. in Mathematics and an M.Ed. in Education Leadership and Administration, both from University of Toronto.

Following retirement from TDSB, Miriam worked as an independent consultant focusing on organizational and leadership development.

She and her husband enjoy spending time with their children and grandchildren. 

Senior Vice-President – Lee Weisser
Temple Emanu-El, Toronto

Lee Weisser has served on the board of ARZA Canada since 2015. Lee studied at the Hebrew University in Jerusalem in her youth and she participated in the Beutel Leadership Seminar in Israel in 2017. Lee is an active participant in her home congregation of Temple Emanu-El in Toronto where she leads Israel-related activities and serves as co-chair of the Social Action Committee. She has been a volunteer facilitator for the Ve’ahavta Skills Academy in career development, and received a Canada150 Award for Citizenship.

She is a Professional Certified Coach, holds a Master of Adult Education degree from the University of Toronto, and currently works as a career coach. She lives with her husband in Toronto.

Vice-President, Program – Cheryl Englander
Solel Congregation, Mississauga

Cheryl Englander presently serves as a Vice President of ARZA Canada, having been a member of the Board since 2008. Previously she worked part-time as a staff member for CCRJ and ARZA Canada.

She is active at Solel Congregation, Mississauga and in the local community.

Vice-President, Membership/Fundraising – Dorothy (Dodi) Millman
Temple Sinai, Toronto

In 1972 Dorothy launched DMS Market Services as an Outsource Contact Center service. By 1995, she employed 2000 people, went public in 1995 and in 2001 sold to Minacs Worldwide where she was Vice Chair for over two years. From 2005 to 2019, Dorothy’s company, SBS Communications, specialized in client advocacy, process and contact centre strategies, solutions, outsourcing on a global platform and vendor management. Dorothy is now enjoying retirement.

Dorothy has worked on several for profit and not-for-profit boards over her career. She  serves on the ARZA Canada Board of Directors as Vice President Membership/Fundraising and as Co-Lead for the Temple Sinai Israel Connections group. 

Vice-President, Communications –  Jeff Denaburg
Holy Blossom, Toronto

Jeff Denaburg is the Vice-President of Communications for ARZA Canada and is currently serving in his sixth year on the ARZA Canada board.  Jeff  has held the position of co-Chair of the Israel Committee at Holy Blossom Temple for several years, where he also serves as Shaliach Tzibur.

When not pursuing his Israel-related interests, Jeff works as a Project Manager in Information Technology at CIBC. Jeff is married and he and his wife Phyllis have two children.

Vice-President, Treasurer – Valerie Whitefield
Temple Sinai, Toronto

Valerie joined the ARZA Canada Board in 2008, soon became the volunteer bookkeeper and is now serving as Treasurer of ARZA Canada.  She has been a member of Temple Sinai Congregation of Toronto since 1986 and has served on the Pulpit & Services, Adult Education, Membership and Festivals committees, as well as serving the community as a Shaliach Tzibur.

She currently works as a freelance bookkeeper and a volunteer at Toronto Rehab.  Valerie and her husband Brian have two children. They are volunteers and avid supporters of The Toronto Jewish Film Festival. Their shared love of Eretz Israel has taken them there on many missions and personal vacations.

Secretary, Judith Wiley
Temple Israel, London

Judith Wiley joined the ARZA Canada board in 2017 as representative from Temple Israel in London, Ontario, and has recently been appointed as Secretary. Before moving from downtown Toronto to Port Stanley, Ontario Judith was an active member of Holy Blossom Temple. She has worked in the voluntary sector for most of her career, as CEO of various organizations at the national and international level. Known for her knowledge of non-profit governance and community development, Judith is currently vice chair of J Space Canada Foundation and a member of J Space Canada Advisory Committee.

She has been fortunate to have worked in many areas of the world, as consultant for various charities, the Inter-American Development Bank and the Caribbean Development Bank. She tries to spend part of every year in Israel and is a keen observer of the small and large “p” politics of the country.  Judith attended the Beutel Leadership Seminar in 2018, and returned home more committed than ever to working to strengthen the Reform movement in Israel.  Judith is currently CEO of the Central Community Health Centre in Elgin County and is very honoured to serve on the ARZA Canada board.

Past President – Les Rothschild


Rabbi Larry Englander – Solel Congregation, Mississauga/Temple Sinai, Toronto; ARZENU
Glenn Cohen – Temple Sinai, Toronto; CZF
Naomi Cohen – Temple Kol Ami, Thornhill
Penny Fine – City Shul, Toronto
Elliot Goldenberg – Temple Emanu–El–Beth Sholom, Montreal
Ellen Gordon – Temple Sholom, Vancouver
Adam Roberts – Temple Emanu–El, Toronto

Board Members-at-Large

Pam Albert – Holy Blossom, Toronto
Mark S. Anshan – Holy Blossom, Toronto; Camp George
Gerald Fisher – Temple Anshe Shalom, Hamilton
Len Bates – Temple Har Zion, Thornhill
Arliene Botnick – Solel Congregation, Mississauga
Rabbi Steve Garten – Temple Israel, Ottawa
David B. Dewitt – Holy Blossom, Toronto
Carl S. Ehrlich –
Joan Garson – Holy Blossom, Toronto
Shirley Herman – Solel Congregation, Mississauga
Spencer Brawner – Temple Beth Ora, Edmonton
Ronald King – B’nai Shalom V’Tikvah, Ajax(Durham)
Ruth Livingston – Temple Shalom, Winnipeg
Mark Paidra – Temple B’Nai Tikvah, Calgary
Carole Sterling – Holy Blossom, Toronto; World Union of Progressive Judaism
Herman Yeger – Or Hadash, Newmarket


Pekka Sinervo, President, Canadian Council of Reform Judaism
Austin Beutel,  World Union for Progressive Judaism